Gold Cup History Tidbits [1997]

The APBA Gold Cup is traditionally presented to the winning driver by the President of the American Power Boat Association.

Current [1997] APBA President Steve David, who drives the Miss Detroit Ford Dealers entry, has the chance to be the first chief executive to win the APBA's crown jewel in 90 years of Gold Cup racing.

The last time that a sitting president won the race of races was in 1907. Jonathon Wainwright, who served as president of the APBA between 1905 and 1909, won the Gold Cup in 1905 at the wheel of Chip and in 1906 and 1907 as pilot of Chip II.

George Townsend, who served as president between 1932 and 1934, won a pair of Gold Cups in 1926 and 1927 as driver of Greenwich Folly.

Bill Horn, president in 1946, won the 1932 Gold Cup with Delphine IV.

At this year's Gold Cup in Detroit, Steve David will have competition from Miss Exide owner/driver Mike Jones, another past APBA president. Both David and Jones would like nothing better than to join that most exclusive of racing fraternities -- that select group of competitors who have occupied the APBA's most prestigious office and also have won the association's premier trophy -- the APBA Gold Cup.