1962 Presidents Cup

hydros to invade washington, d.c.

1962 Presidents Cup programme guide
1962 Presidents Cup programme guide

Akron, Ohio—The fastest unlimited hydroplane racing boats in the world invade Washington, D.C. Sept, 15 and 16 for the annual running of the prestige-laden President's Cup Regatta on the Potomac River.

Approximately 15 of the "thunderboats• are tentatively scheduled to compete in the event, which will be highlighted by President John F. Kennedy's presentation of the cup to the victor.

Among the probable three-pointers that will compete in the nation's capital are Miss Century 21, winner of the 1961 President's Cup competition. Under driver Bill Muncey's handling, the Thriftway Stores entry also has captured four straight races this year-- the Diamond Cup at Coeur d' Alene, Idaho; the coveted Gold Cup in Seattle; the new Spirit of Detroit Trophy in Detroit, and last week-end's Governor's Cup in Madison, Ind.

Also expected to contest for the President's Cup is the brand-new Miss Bardahl, owned by Bardahl International Corp., Seattle, and driven by Ron Musson. Miss Bardahl finished second to Miss Century 21 in the Governor's Cup race last week and also in the Gold Cup at Seattle.

Tahoe Miss, owned by prominent Nevada sportsman Bill Harrah and driven by Air Force Col. Russ Schleeh, also will be on hand in Washington. Tahoe Miss so far this year has finished second in the Diamond Cup, third in the Spirit of Detroit race and fourth in the Governor's Cup.

Another brand-new boat, Mrs. Shirley McDonald's beautiful blue and white Notre Dame, will be driven by rookie driver Col. Warner Gardner in the President's Cup competition, Notre Dame finished third in the Gold Cup and second in the Spirit of Detroit contest.

Gale Enterprises' Gale V, piloted by wily Wild Bill Cantrell, also will carry the tag of top contender into the President's Cup. Plagued by hard luck in earlier races this year, Gale V won the Lt. James J. Meehan Trophy for the fastest lap (108.488 mph) during the Detroit race and pushed Miss Century 21 to the limit before blowing its supercharger in the final lap of the last heat there.

Jack Schafer's new twin-engine Such Crust IV is yet another entry which could capture top honors in the President's Cup. Piloted by Freddie Alter, Such Crust IV finished fifth in this year's Diamond Cup and Gold Cup. It is the only all-aluminum boat on the circuit.

Seattle's Bob Gilliam will bring his Fascination and Fascination I to town for the race. Fascination 1 won the Space Needle Championship race which was held in conjunction with this year's Seattle Gold Cup. Gilliam pilots one of the boats himself; driver of the other in past races has been Bob Larsen.

Regatta Chairman Francis Racioppi's Miss D.C. will be the hometown favorite as she makes her debut in the President's Cup.

Miss U.S. 1, which set a new world record of 200.440 mph for the straightaway mile last April, is another "roaring monster" that will create a stir with her speed. Driven by Don Wilson, she finished fourth in the Gold Cup. Miss U.S. 1 is owned by George Simon's U.S, Equipment Co., Detroit.

Miss Madison, owned by 10,500 citizens of Madison, Ind. will carry that community's colors in the D.C. race. She will be driven by Marion Cooper, soft-spoken veteran of many speed boat races.

Detroit's Thunderbolt, owned by George Zigas and driven in earlier races by Bud Saile and Walt Kade, also will be on hand, as will be Dewey's Miss Lumberville, another Detroit entry. Thunderbolt finished fifth at Detroit and Miss Lumberville will make her first start in D.C.

Bob Miller, owner and driver of Miss B & I out of Everett, Wash., is expected to help fill out the field for the President's Cup. Miss B & I finished fifth in the Governor's Cup.

Although Miss Century 21 and Muncey have captured the toga in all four races thus far this year, no one is conceding a thing to the Seattle combo. Like professional football teams, most unlimited hydros and drivers are capable of beating the other on any given day. Such factors as weather conditions, course layout, type of water and altitude of the course often have a different effect on each boat. And because the boats are so well matched, these factors can mean the difference between winning and being an also-ran.

Evidence of this can be seen in a rundown of the last seven President's Cup winners: Muncey won it last year in Miss Century 21; Chuck Thompson took the prize in Miss Detroit in I960; Miro Slovak and Wahoo won in 1959; Don Wilson and Miss U.S. 1 came in first in 1958; Jack Regas drove Hawaii Kai III to victory in 1957; Muncey brought Miss Thriftway home first in 1956, and Danny Foster led the field home in Tempo VII in 1955.

Following the President's Cup Regatta, boats and drivers move west to compete in the first annual Lake Tahoe Championship Regatta Sept. 30. Sponsored by Bill Harrah, the Tahoe race is expected to be one of the best of the year, with a field of 15 to 20 three-point speedsters. The race is being chaired by Bill Stead, former top driver of Maverick and other uniimiteds.


Eddie Elias Enterprises, Joe Antenora, Publicity 9 Overwood Rd., Akron 13, 0. 9/5/62