1991 Budweiser APBA Gold Cup

APBA Gold Cup in Detroit

The APBA and Unlimited Racing Commission announced their association with Eagle Snacks, Inc. Replacing Household Financing Corporation, Eagle Snacks was named Series Sponsor for the 1991 unlimited hydroplane racing season. Ten boats, a lot more than expected, showed up, all looked good and they all qualified their first time out.

Mark Tate, piloting the bright red and white Winston Eagle, managed to win the Gold Cup competition after (Scott) Pierce was penalized for jumping the gun in the final heat . . . Interestingly enough, none of the six drivers in the final heat (Tate, Pierce, Mike Hanson, George Woods Jr., Mitch Evans, Jerry Hopp) had ever won a Gold Cup or National Championship.

(Reprinted from the URC Electronic Hydroletter No. 34 11/2/95)