1999 Budweiser Thunderfest West

Budweiser Thunderfest Schedule

The Budweiser Thunderfest At Kelowna
Lake Okanagan, Kelowna, B.C.
August 13, 14 and 15

The Hydros head North to the beautiful resort city of Kelowna, British Columbia to compete in the Budweiser Thunderfest.  Lake Okanagan was the scene of a dramatic rebirth in Unlimited racing in 1996, with the thriving eastern British Columbia city host to an event that earned UHRA Race Site of the Year honors. Back at this site for the first time since 1967, the thunderboats were met with enthusiastic approval. 

PICO teams have dominated in  Kelowna.  Since it's return to the UHRA schedule, Fred Leland's PICO teams have won every event. Current Miss Budweiser driver Dave Villwock won the inaugural event in 1996 at the helm of the mighty U100. Former pilot Mark Evans won the 1997 and 1998 contests. It's up to Chip Hanauer to keep the Leland/PICO win streak alive. Hanauer missed last weekend's General Motors Cup due to injuries he sustained in a violent crash at the Budweiser Columbia Cup two weeks ago. If Hanauer is unable to drive this weekend, rookie Greg Hopp is ready as back-up.

Miss Budweiser pilot Dave Villwock is looking for his fourth win in a row. Last weekend Villwock won the 26th race of his career and now ranks third in career victories among drivers past and present. Villwock would love to win his 27th race in Kelowna and return his name to the trophy he won in 1996. 

A new rule will hamper Villwock's quest.  Any driver with three wins in a row will be prohibited  from starting in lanes one or two for all Heats including the final. 

The Unlimited Lights point race is on the line. Bo Schide and Charley Wiggins are battling for the ULRS series title.

How To Get There: From Seattle, take I-5 north to the Canadian border, crossing either at Sumas or Blaine, then head east on Highway 1 to Hope. Proceed onto the Coquihalla Highway to Merritt, then follow exit signs to Kelowna

Tentative Schedule:

9:00 am  - Gates open to the public 
10:00am to 12:00pm - Unilimited Testing (no qualifying)
12:00 pm to 12:30 pm - High Output Water Ski Show 
12:30 pm to 1:30 pm  - Unlimited Qualifying (Round 1) 
1:30 pm to 2:00 pm - Jet Ski Demonstration
2:00 pm to 3:00 pm - Unlimited Qualifying (Round 2)
3:00 pm to 4:00 pm - Unlimited Light Testing
4:00 pm - 4:30 pm - Jet Ski Demonstration 

9:00 am - Gates open to the public 
9:00 am to 9:45 am - Unlimited Testing & Practice 
9:45 am to 10:15 am - Unlimited Light Driver's Meeting
9:45 am to 10:30 am - Tunnel Boat Testing & Practice 
10:30 am to 11:15 am - Unlimited Light Testing & Practice 
11:15 am to 11:30 am - Jet Ski Demonstration 
11:30 am to 12:30 pm - Unlimited Qualifying Session (Round 3) 
12:30 pm to 1:30 pm - Unlimited Driver's Autograph Session 
12:30 pm  - Unlimited Light Heat 1A
1:00 pm - High Output Water Ski Show 
1:15 pm - Unlimited Light Heat 1B 
1:30 pm to 2:30 pm - Unlimited Qualifying Session (Round  4)
2:00 pm to 3:00 - Unlimited Light Driver's Autograph Session
2:30 pm - Tunnel Boat Heat 1 
3:00 pm to 4:00 pm - Unlimited Qualifying Session (Round 5) 
4:00 pm - Unlimited Light Heat 2A
4:30 pm - Tunnel Boat Heat 2 
4:45 pm - Unlimited Light Heat 2B 
5:00 pm - Unlimited Driver's Meeting (Hospitality Barge)

9:00 am - Gates open to the public 
9:00 am to 10:15 am - Unlimited Testing & Practice 
10:15 am to 10:30 am - Opening Ceremonies 
10:30 am - Unlimited Heat 1A
11:00 am - Unlimited Heat 1B 
11:30 am - Cantel AT&T Tunnel Boat Final 
12:00 pm - Unlimited Heat 2A 
12:30 pm - Unlimited Heat 2B 
1:00 pm - Canada Cup Unlimited Light Final 
1:30 pm - Unlimited Heat 3A 
2:00 pm - Unlimited Heat 3B 
2:30 pm - Unlimited Provisional Heat 
3:15 pm - Budweiser Thunderfest Unlimited Championship Final Heat 
4:00 pm - Awards Ceremony 

(Republished from Hydros™)